lesdomestiques

cooking adventures at chez wangelstein

Aww shucks

I only discovered the joy of oysters since moving to the Pacific Northwest 8 years ago. Since then, I’ve been the lazy beneficiary of others doing the dirty work and shucking them. When Aaron & I lived in our tiny Wallingford apartment we decided to host a small birthday party which included serving at least 7 dozen oysters. I don’t recall if Aaron had much experience shucking, but he proceeded to spend the majority of ‘our’ party in the kitchen hovering over the sink prying open oysters. This past year I resolved to conquer my fear of stabbing myself with an oyster shucker. First, you’ll need the proper tool. Www.oysters.us is a great website and provides a comprehensive overview of the tools of the trade. Our choice is the Boston Stabber or Galveston/Southern/Gull Knife.

I’ve posted 2 videos, the first is my version which I’ll call ‘safe & sane.’ This method doesn’t require you to hold the oyster in the cup of your hand. Instead, you place the oyster in a damp cloth on the counter, fold the towel over the top, and place your hand on the top of the oyster for leverage. Insert the tip of the oyster knife into the hinge and work it back and forth until you break through, The shell will literally pop open. Insert the blade into the oyster and sever the membrane.

The second method is for more experienced shuckers as it takes skill and some nerve to hold the oyster in hand, while jamming a blunt blade towards the meat of your palm. When done efficiently, it’s a beautiful thing.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment